Grove’s Cabin Theater of Morongo Valley and Theatre 29 of Twentynine Palms garnered some top honors at the Desert Theatre League Desert Star Awards in Indio Sunday Night. The Desert Theater League is made up of 31 community, school, and professional theatrical producing organizations in the high and low deserts. This was the 26th year the Desert Theatre League has honored the best in live theater in the Morongo Basin and the Coachella Valley. Managing editor Tami Roleff gives a rundown of local honorees…


The Groves Theater made the biggest mark on the awards ceremonies, taking home seven awards including Outstanding Drama Production for “Strange Snow.” “Strange Snow” also garnered a Best Lead Actor in a Drama and Best Drama Director award for Abe Daniels, and Best Supporting Actor in a Drama for Kurt Schauppner.
An original production at the Grove’s theater, “Georgia O’Keefe,” won best original writing for author Dolores Becker-Trost, a Best Lead actress in a Drama nod for Joy Groves, and Best Supporting Actress award for Anja Homburg.

Another Grove’s Cabin Theatre production, “The Clean House” saw Wendy Cohen winning for Best Director of a Comedy and Joy Groves for Best Supporting actress in a Comedy. In addition Cohen was honored with the prestigious “Joan Woodbury Mitchell Award” for theatrical motivation.

Theatre 29 took home three awards, with “Gypsy” winning the Best Director of a Musical award for Gary Daigneault and Best lead actress in a Musical for Analisa Pilecki. “Ragtime” received an award for John Wright for Best Props and Special effects.

Leave a Reply

Z107.7 News and requests that you respect this comment section and others by keeping your comments civil and on-topic. We reserve the right to reject or remove any comments with purposely incorrect facts, threatening, abusive, obscene, or defamatory language or innuendos. We will not accept anonymous posting.




You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>